About the Sheriff’s Office

The Sheriff's Office

Located at 2200 N. Seminary Avenue in Woodstock, the Sheriff’s Office is staffed with nearly 400 employees who work to accomplish the goals and objectives of the department and improve the safety of the citizens of McHenry County.

Location & Contact Directory

McHenry County Sheriff's Office
2200 N. Seminary Ave.
Woodstock, IL, 60098

Located at the East Entrance of the Government Center.

Sheriff's Office

Jail Main Office


Jail Visitation



Civil Process Division


Community Relations


Records Divisions



Crime Stoppers




Patrol (Main Office)


Patrol (Algonquin Substation)


Meet The Team

McHenry County Sheriff

Bill Prim

As chief law enforcement officer of McHenry County, Sheriff Bill Prim directs the McHenry County Sheriff’s Office, whose fundamental function is the protection of lives and property of County residents. He accomplishes this through the establishment and administration of a variety of divisions within the Sheriff’s Office, including: Operations, Corrections, Investigations, Special Services and Administration. 

Sheriff Bill Prim has been in office since 2014 and has a 30+ year career in law enforcement. He is a long-time McHenry County resident where he has raised his two children and developed close ties with the community.


Robb Tadelman

Robb Tadelman is an 18 year veteran of the Sheriff’s Office and currently serves as Undersheriff. 

Robb is a graduate of Western Michigan University with a BS in Aviation and Administration and a Minor in Criminal Justice. He’s a graduate of Northwestern University School of Police Staff and Command. He and his family have been living in McHenry County for 17 years. 

Chief of Administration

James Popovits

Chief James Popovits joined the Sheriff’s Office in 1999 and is currently serving as the Chief of Operations. As Chief, he oversees the Criminal Investigation Division, Telecommunications Division and Special Services Division. Popovits graduated from Northwestern School of Police Staff and Command class #407, FBI National Academy session #247, the Senior Management Institute for Police session #51, and the DEA Drug Unit Commander Academy session #71.

He received his Bachelor of Business degree in Economics from Western Illinois University and has lived in McHenry County since 1999.

Chief of Operations

Michel Muraski

Chief Michel Muraski joined the Sheriff’s Office in 2004 and is currently serving as Chief of Operations. He oversees the Patrol Division, Fleet Management, and IT. Muraski graduated for Northwestern Police School of Staff and Command #368, graduated from Leadership Greater McHenry County in 2020, was a member of the DEA Task Force, and is Commander of the McHenry County Major Investigation Assistance Team.

He is a veteran of the US Air Force and graduated with a Bachelor’s Degree in Business Administration with a concentration in Finance from University of Illinois at Chicago in 2003. He has lived in McHenry County since 2002.

Chief of Corrections


Chief Clesceri joined the Sheriff’s Office in 2020 where he presently serves as the Chief of Corrections. He previously served as a member of the McHenry County Sheriff’s Office SWAT Team. He is a former chief of police with 33 years of law enforcement experience in Illinois and Greater Los Angeles. Previous law enforcement assignments include Assistant Chief of Investigations, Commander, Sergeant, Patrol and K9 Officer, Gang Investigator, Major Narcotics Detective, and Asian Organized Crime.

Mike is a graduate of Northwestern University School of Police Staff & Command, and Harvard Kennedy School for Crisis Leadership. He received his Executive Juris Doctor of Law Degree from Concord Law School of Purdue University and has a bachelor’s degree in Business Management. He is presently attending the University of Virginia, School of Leadership.

Chief of Court Security

Mike Brichetto

Mike Brichetto has been employed by the Sheriff’s Office since 2014, and currently serves as the Chief of Court Security. As Chief, Mike supervises 28 officers whose primary goal is to provide a safe environment for the Judiciary and all who enter the Government Center. Additionally, Mike acts as the liaison between the Sheriff Office and the Courts, keeping the Sheriff informed of any security concerns that may arise. Prior to being hired by the Sheriff’s Office, Mike was employed as a Command Staff Officer for the Crystal Lake Police Department, having over 30 years of police experience. He is also is a graduate of the FBI National Academy and has resided with his family in McHenry County for over 40 years.

Business Manager

Sandra Salgado

A lifelong resident of McHenry County, Sandra Salgado came to McHenry County Sheriff’s Office in 2014 after working for Lake County Sheriff’s Office. Prior to that, Salgado worked for Pioneer Center for Human Services for over 13 years in human resource management.

As the Business Manager for the Sheriff’s Office, Salgado is responsible for budget development and annual oversight. She also serves at the liaison to the County Board to help move resolutions through committees for operational sustainability as well updating the County Board on Sheriff’s Office activities.

Salgado also manages the front office team and tasks like human resource, payroll, and accounting, along with overseeing the Custodial team, Records team and Civil Process team.

General Orders

For a complete list of McHenry County Sheriff’s Office General Orders and public-facing documents, click below.

The Merit Commission

The Merit Commission ensures a fair and equal opportunity system for the employment, promotion, discipline and discharge of full-time Deputy Sheriffs and merited rank positions. Merited ranks in the Sheriff’s Office are Lieutenant, Sergeant, and Deputy Sheriff.

The Commission is comprised of five volunteer commissioners, each serving a six year term. There are three officer positions within the commission: Chair, Vice Chair and Secretary. Officers are elected by simple majority vote of the commissioners. 

Meetings are open to the public and held on the second Thursday of each month at 9:00 a.m. in the County Administration Building, 667 Ware Rd, Woodstock, next to the Government Center. The Chairperson may call special meetings as necessary.

Meet The Commissioners:

Term Start:

Term End: 


April 2, 2020

April 2, 2026

Brian Kelly (Republican)

April 1, 2018

April 1, 2024

Gloria VanHof (Democrat)

April 1, 2017

April 1, 2023

Gabrielle Johnson (Republican)

June 15, 2016

April 30, 2022

Patrick J. McAndrews (Democrat)

April 1, 2021

April 1, 2027

Melinda Fanning (Republican)